COASTAL BEND GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

AGENDA PREPARED AND POSTED:	November 5, 2010
DATE OF MEETING:	November 10, 2010
TIME OF MEETING:	8:00 A.M.

PLACE WHERE MEETING WAS HELD: District Office, 109 E. Milam, WHARTON, TEXAS 77488.

I. In Attendance:

II. Ronald Gertson – President CBGCD; L.G. Raun, Jr. – Vice President CBGCD; Edmund Weinheimer – Secretary CBGCD; Neil Hudgins – Manager CBGCD; Mandy Bain – CBGCD; Leroy Dettling – Commissioner Precinct 1; Dr. John Zerwas – State Representative District 28.

III. Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 8:25 A.M.

IV. **Public Comments:**

Mr. Dettling introduced himself and gave a brief presentation on upcoming drainage district issues for Wharton County. Mr. Dettling would like the commissioner's court host a couple town hall meetings to allow the public to become more educated on the difference between a drainage district and a drainage department. He would then like to see the voters of Wharton County decide which way to proceed.

Dr. John Zerwas introduced himself and complimented the Board of Directors of CBGCD on their dedication to the preservation of groundwater for Wharton County and it's users.

V. Approval of Minutes:

Vice President Raun made a motion to accept the October 5, 2010 regular meeting minutes, rule hearing minutes and permit hearing minutes as presented. Secretary Weinheimer seconded. All voted for; motion carried.

VI. Manager's Report:

Financial Report – Mr. Hudgins reported a checking account balance of \$ 16,552.26 and a money market balance of \$ 558,806.54. A budget vs. actual, a list of total District investments, and the balance sheet for October was also presented. After discussion and review, Secretary Weinheimer made a motion to approve the checking account balance, the money market account balance, the investment report, and a list of detailed checks and deposits for the month of October as presented. Vice President seconded. All voted for; motion carried.

<u>Well Registration Update</u> – Mr. Hudgins presented the Board with a detailed breakdown of current Exempt and Non Exempt Well Information.

<u>Well Monitoring Update</u> – Mr. Hudgins presented the Board with the October well monitoring report. The index wells show an average the wells are up about one foot.

<u>Upcoming Meetings</u> – Mr. Hudgins will attend the quarterly TAGD meeting in Austin on November 30^{th} & December 1st. Mr. Hudgins, President Gertson and Director Wittig will attend the Texas Water Law Conference in San Antonio on December 2^{nd} and 3^{rd} .

VII. **Oath of Office for Elected Officials:** Notary Public Mandy Bain performed the swearing of the Oath of Office ceremony for the Directors that were re-elected.

Positions re-elected were Ronald Gertson – Director Precinct 1, Arthur Priesmeyer – Director Precinct 4, and Edmund Weinheimer – Director At Large.

- VIII. Election of Officers: Secretary Weinheimer made a motion to elect the officers as follows: President – Ronald Gertson, Precinct 2, Vice President/Treasurer – L.G. Raun, Precinct 4, Secretary – Edmund Weinheimer, Jr., At Large. Vice President Raun seconded. All voted for, motion carried.
- IX. **TML/IEBP Health Insurance Rerate:** Staff presented the Board with the rerates for staff health insurance.
- X. Annual Management Plan Report: After discussion and review, Vice President Raun made a motion to accept the Annual Management Plan Report as presented by Mr. Hudgins. Secretary Weinheimer seconded. All voted for; motion carried.
- XI. **Pump Test & Hydrogeological Report Guidelines:** Mr. Hudgins presented the Board a draft copy of the Pump Test & Hydrogeological Guidelines by Steve Young with Intera. The Board suggested that Mr. Hudgins asked the District's attorney, Greg Ellis, to review the Guidelines before proceeding with any action.
- XII. **Next Meeting**: The next general board meeting was set for Tuesday, January 11, 2011 at 8:00 a.m. at the District Office, 109 E. Milam, Wharton, Texas.
- XIII. Adjournment: Secretary Weinheimer made a motion to adjourn. Vice President Raun seconded. All voted for; motion carried. Adjournment at 9:57 a.m.